In March 2008 The Parkstone celebrated its 75th year in business - owned and managed by the same family during this time. Its history has mirrored the history around it and its constant ability to change within the sector has been driven by a family commitment to the business that is relatively unique in the modern hotel industry.
The Old Parkstone Hotel
The original building was acquired in 1933 by the grandmother and father of the present owner, Stewart Clarkson. After purchasing the house the premises were converted into a small family hotel with five bedrooms, lounge and tearoom.
The Old Lounge
Eight new bedrooms were added to the building in 1937 but with the onset of war in 1939 developments were halted as the Hotel was requisitioned by the WRAF
In 1950 a large dining room was erected. This provided much needed space for the many luncheon parties and dinner dances of the time
A ballroom was added in 1960 and over the next two decades there was a steady development of the premises with several bedrooms added and a new bar and dining area created from the old tearoom and lounge area.
1997 saw the most recent addition of a new bedroom wing and the partial preparation of a second phase of a further seven bedrooms in the new extension. In December 2002 the lounge bar was redeveloped and a more intimate restaurant - Restaurant 1933 - was created to provide a more attractive setting for our developing cuisine. In March 2005 further bedrooms were added making it Prestwick’s only 3 Star AA Hotel.